Bernard Cornwell.

Several years ago I read a book written by Bernard Cornwell about a british soldier Sharpe. It was the second book in the series and I liked it very much. I always liked historical fiction and I felt like I am young again.

As usually in such cases, I went to internet and read about the author.

You can repeat this step by clicking on the line below.

BERNARD CORNWELL

Then I remembered that I read before his book “Stonehenge” and enjoyed it very much. All theories about Stonehenge fascinated me for years. Surely, we visited Stonehenge during our trip to England and this visit stays in my memory (sunny day, huge stones, modern buses, sheep, tourists from all over the world).

Next step was reading every book about Sharpe and Lord Wellington. Not all of them are equally well-written but I would recommend to read all of them.

You can find about the Sharpe books HERE.

But the Sharpe series is only one of many.

Here is more about BERNARD CORNWELL BOOKS

I read many of them with great pleasure but one of them stays separately in my memory. It is “Agincourt” (Azincourt in French). Please read the book. You’ll be glad you did.

I ask my readers who read books by Bernard Cornwell to comment on this post. Thank you.

  

6 thoughts on “Bernard Cornwell.

  1. I love Bernard Cornwell books and I’m gradually working my way through his whole list of titles – starting with the standalones and shorter series – saving all the Sharpe books for later. I loved Azincourt, too. I haven’t read Stonehenge yet. Have you read the Starbuck Chronicles? I thoroughly enjoyed those four books, gave me a better understanding of the American Civil War. I enjoyed Thomas of Hookton’s adventures in 1356 and the Grail Quest series, and couldn’t get enough of the The Saxon books. It’s a magnificent way to absorb history. I followed your link and see now that there are even more books since I compiled my list. I’ll check my library website to see if they have these yet. Thanks, JF, for putting the thought in my head.

    • I am very glad you love his books. It seems to me that I read everything
      he wrote. For me Stonehenge had a special meaning because I am interested
      in all theories about it and similar places.
      Sharpe books are connected with Wellington (from India to Waterloo). Not
      all of them are very good but I read some several times. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

