My friend artist Vladimir Ryklin.

Both of us lived in Moscow for many years but we did not know each other there. In 1975 we emigrated with our families and then we met in the small inn on the 35th street between 5th and 6th avenues.

Vladimir did not know English at all so it was my task to find good and cheap apartments for rent in some beautiful and peaceful area of New York City. I was fortunate to find such apartments for our families on the same floor of a building in Rego Park in Queens.

We and our children became friends. I was very interested in Vladimir’s work. We discussed his projects, what were his thoughts when he worked on any painting, his thoughts about art and artists.

Vladimir’s paintings were not simple or just beautiful. They were always thoughts provoking.

In 1975 I also met a businessman Eduard Nakhamkin and I suggested to him that it could be a very good idea to open an art gallery in Manhattan and to introduce Russian artists to American public. The gallery opened in 1977 and Vladimir Ryklin’s one-man show was the first.

I remember that there were 27 paintings on the display at that time and 25 of them were sold during first two days.

Today I found an article about my friend Vladimir Ryklin with several of his paintings. You can read it HERE.

Leave a Reply

