Life and quotes of Hedy Lamarr.

I wonder how many people remember Hedy Lamarr and know about her life.

There was time when she was the most beautiful woman in the movie industry.

There was also time when she made very important inventions.

Who was Hedy Lamarr?

Here is an excerpt from her official website:

“She was born Hedwig Eva Maria Kiesler on November 9, 1914 in Vienna, Austria. At 17 years old Hedy starred in her first film, a German project called Geld Auf Der Strase. Hedy continued her film career by working on both German and Czechoslavakian productions. The 1932 German film Exstase brought her to the attention of Hollywood producers, and she soon signed a contract with MGM.

Once in Hollywood, she officially changed her name to Hedy Lamarr and starred in her first Hollywood film, Algiers (1938), opposite Charles Boyer. She continued to land parts opposite the most popular and talented actors of the day, including Spencer Tracy, Clark Gable and Jimmy Stewart. Some of her films include an adaptation of John Steinbeck’s Tortilla Flat (1942), White Cargo (1942), Cecil B. DeMille’s Samson and Delilah (1949) and The Female Animal (1957).

As if being a beautiful, talented actress was not enough, Hedy was also extremely intelligent. In addition to her film accomplishments, Hedy patented an idea that later became the crutch of both secure military communications and mobile phone technology. In 1942, Hedy and composer George Antheil patented what they called the “Secret Communication System.” The original idea, meant to solve the problem of enemies blocking signals from radio-controlled missiles during World War II, involved changing radio frequencies simultaneously to prevent enemies from being able to detect the messages. While the technology of the time prevented the feasibility of the idea at first, the advent of the transistor and its later downsizing made Hedy’s idea very important to both the military and the cell phone industry.”

There are some of her quotes below. I would appreciate if you comment on them.

#1. I am not ashamed to say that no man I ever met was my father’s equal, and I never loved any other man as much.

#2. A good painting to me has always been like a friend. It keeps me company, comforts and inspires.

#3. I have not been that wise. Health I have taken for granted. Love I have demanded, perhaps too much and too often. As for money, I have only realized its true worth when I didn’t have it.

#4. Compromise and tolerance are magic words. It took me 40 years to become philosophical.

#5. American men, as a group, seem to be interested in only two things, money and breasts. It seems a very narrow outlook.

#6. It’s funny about men and women. Men pay in cash to get them and pay in cash to get rid of them. Women pay emotionally coming and going. Neither has it easy.

#7. I advise everybody not to save: spend your money. Most people save all their lives and leave it to somebody else. Money is to be enjoyed.

#8. The ladder of success in Hollywood is usually a press agent, actor, director, producer, leading man; and you are a star if you sleep with each of them in that order. Crude, but true.

#9. It is easier for women to succeed in business, the arts, and politics in America than in Europe.

#10. Jack Kennedy always said to me, Hedy, get involved. That’s the secret of life. Try everything. Join everything. Meet everybody.

#11. Perhaps my problem in marriage-and it is the problem of many women-was to want both intimacy and independence. It is a difficult line to walk, yet both needs are important to a marriage.

#12. Any girl can look glamorous. All you have to do is stand still and look stupid.

15 thoughts on “Life and quotes of Hedy Lamarr.

  1. Beauty and brains…a wonderful combination. And I like the idea of #7, but I do not practice it too much, as I like to save, as it also is a good prevention/wisdom as in #3 🙂

    • It looks like #3 and #7 contradict each other. But I think it’s not so.
      We saved only to spend money traveling. Seeing other countries and people is
      wonderful. We visited more than 50 countries and were several times in some
      of them (5 times in France and Canada, 3 times in Italy, etc).

      • I do like the feeling and emotion of #7, and it is important… 50 countries, now that is a life well lived 🙂 Keep it up, and look forward to more posts of these amazing places.

        • Please remember that half of my life (40 years) we could travel only inside
          the Soviet Union. It was a closed totalitarian country. Only once I was sent
          to Hungary as a member of the scientific delegation for 5 days. We saw almost
          nothing at that time in Budapest as we worked many hours each day.
          When I became American we went to Hungary and enjoyed the beauty of the
          country.

          • Very good point. As an American, I have felt fortunate at the ease in which I have been allowed to travel around the world and also the disappointment of my Chinese friends were so severely limited. Never take it for granted, and when given a chance ~ see all the beauty you can.

            • It is very upsetting to me to see that young Americans often don’t understand how fortunate
              they are and what is needed to protect this country from moving to totalitarism.

  2. A biography of her was published about a year or so ago. I remember the review I read also lamented the fact that few people know who she is. She certainly was a remarkable woman. My grandfather was a fan of films from the 30’s and 40’s, so I have fond memories of watching her films, and others as well, while sitting in my grandfather’s living room.

Leave a Reply

