“Gods, Graves and Scholars”.

One of my followers asked me recently what are my favorite authors. I was unable to answer her question. I read books of thousands of authors written in different countries, in different times, in different genres. It’s impossible for me to choose 10-20 favorite writers.
However, it is very easy to name some books that I read and that impressed me very much. “Gods, Graves, Scholars” is one of these books. If you are interested in travel in space and time, in history, in religion, in lives of famous archeologists and their discoveries this is the book for you. It is written as a novel (or as a thriller).
Make yourself a gift by reading this wonderful book.

PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

About 60 years ago I read a wonderful book “Gods, Graves and Scholars: The Story of Archaeology.” 

The book written by C. W. Ceram (January 20, 1915 – April 12, 1972). It was the pseudonym of German journalist and author Kurt Wilhelm Marek.

I was a little younger at that time and the book impressed me very much by facts about lives of all famous archaeologists, about all major discoveries and by its literary style.

After reading the book I’ve  never stopped learning about archaeology and history of civilizations.

If anyone of you did not read the book I highly recommend it.

Wikipedia says: “Published in 28 languages, Ceram’s book eventually received a printing of over 5 million copies, and is still in print today…

Other books by the author include The Secret of the Hittites, March of Archaeology and The First American, a book on ancient…

View original post 12 more words

2 thoughts on ““Gods, Graves and Scholars”.

Leave a Reply

