Millie and “Pit of Vipers”

Below is Millie. Several moments of her life she was slightly busy (student, teacher, wife, mother of six kids, teacher again). If you want to know more just click HERE.

MILLIE THOM

MILLIE THOM

After retirement Millie started to write a trilogy of historical novels “Sons of Kings”.

Two books of the trilogy “Shadow of the Raven” and “Pit of Vipers” are already published.

In November of 2014 I read  “Shadow of the Raven” and wrote about the book HERE.

Two weeks ago I started to read  “Pit of Vipers”.

However, I had a feeling that I read a book with this title long time ago.

Then I remembered that during my early years in the USA I worked as an accountant for the publishing house Grosset and Dunlap. One of its very popular product lines was Nancy Drew Girl Detective Series. “Pit of Vipers” was #18 of Nancy Drew books. It was a case about stealing a snake at the River Heights Zoo.

cover“Pit of Vipers” by Millie Thom is for people of all ages. It is a historical novel about invasion Danes in England and wars between Danes and Anglo-Saxon kingdoms during life of the Wessex king Alfred.

After reading the first book of the trilogy I was ready for Danes’ raids and battles. I was looking forward for new adventures of Eadwulf, the son of king of Mercia.

Very often I am able to tell what will happen in the middle and the end of a book after I read only several pages of it.

However, in “Pit of Vipers” Millie surprised me many times. Yes, there are raids and battles, there are shields’ walls. However, there are also love and friendship, many unpredictable turns and twists. There are wonderful characters of women and men.

My hobby is learning history of civilizations. I found in the book new interesting information (Danes in the Middle Sea, sea battles with Moors).

The book written very well. It’s a pleasure to read it anywhere in any weather.

Don’t miss your chance!

8 thoughts on “Millie and “Pit of Vipers”

  1. I always used to love historical novels and still do when I get the chance. I was a big fan of Robert Graves, Mary Renault, Henry Treece, Nigel Trantor and so on. Sounds like another series to give a go 🙂

    • I loved books about Australia by William Stuart Long. I enjoy books by Bernard Cornwell.
      Millie Thom is a discovery. The second book written even better than the first.

Leave a Reply

