Life is full of surprises or robbers, where are you?! (Part 2)

Here is part 2 of “Life is full of surprises or robbers, where are you?!
I want to clarify here that at time of our emigration people in the USSR were forced to refuse from citizenship and to pay 900 rubles for every member of a family (an average monthly salary of an engineer was 120 rubles). It gives a hint where robbers were at that time.

PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

I slowly drank cold orange juice. My wife and children (15 and 9) were looking at me and at the parcels.

My wife said: “I am sure you are very hungry. Dinner is ready.”

“No, I can’t eat now. Please place some vodka on my hands, face and neck. I burnt them during the day. Let me relax. I’ll eat later.”

She gently treated me and said: “I wonder what is in these heavy wooden boxes?”

“I thought about it many hours. Oh, I also got 4 letters from our mothers. Here they are. Please read them.”

My wife read all letters aloud. They were very sad. Our mothers were sure that they will never see us again and they were very worried how we would be able to cope with all difficulties of life before we reach America and after it. They knew that Soviet authorities allowed us to…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a Reply

