Get a feeling of Sergei Yesenin’s poetry

Sergei Yesenin

Sergei Yesenin

I decided to write a short story about Sergei Yesenin, a great Russian poet. I love images and music of his poems from my childhood.

Once he met a girl. Her name was Isadora Duncan. Then his life drastically changed. I am going to write about it later.

In the meantime I want you to get a feeling of Sergei’s poetry

Below is one of his poem translated by Alec Vagapov.

Please let me know if you like it.

***************************************************************************************************

We’ll depart this world forever, surely,

To repose in peace and quite. Oh, my Lord!

Maybe, I shall also have to duly

Pack my things preparing for the road.

*

Oh, my birch-tree woods! Amazing pictures!

Oh, my dear land! My sandy plains!

In the face of crowds of mortal creatures

I’m unable to conceal my pains.

*

I’ve been filled with love and admiration

For the things embodying the soul.

Peace to aspens, lost in contemplation,

Spreading branches, staring at the shoal!

*

I have thought in silence days and hours,

I have written songs. And I don’t grieve.

I am happy in this gloomy world of ours

To have had a chance to breathe and live.

*

I am happy, I have kissed a woman,

I have slept in grass and flower-bed,

And I never, like a decent human,

Hit a dog or kitten in the head.

*

The unknown land! No blooming pictures!

No amazing fields of wheat, so fine!

Hence, before the crowds of mortal creatures

I have always shivers down the spine.

*

In that land, I know, there won’t be any

Fields of wheat that shine like gold at night

That’s the reason why I love those many

Living with me in this country-side.

************************************************************************************************

6 thoughts on “Get a feeling of Sergei Yesenin’s poetry

Leave a Reply

