Who created symmetry?

PHOTO CHALLENGE: SYMMETRY

Before submitting entries to this challenge I searched for definition of the word “symmetry”.

Here is one that I like (from The Free Dictionary): “The correspondence of the form and arrangement of elements or parts on opposite sides of a dividing line or plane or about a center or an axis.”

Then I thought: “Where do we meet symmetry?” Is symmetry natural? Is it created by people?”

It looks to me that nature has only a few symmetrical things on this planet. As a rule beauty is not symmetrical. The rule of thirds in photography confirms it.

I think that symmetry (even as beautiful as some of my digital paintings) actually shows limits of human imagination.

Now it’s time to show my entries in this challenge.

IMG_1219 (640x480)
IMG_1224 (640x480)

 

2 thoughts on “Who created symmetry?

Leave a Reply

