Get a feeling of Anna Akhmatova’s poetry

 

portrait by Petrov-Vodkin

portrait by Petrov-Vodkin

From Wikipedia: ” Anna Andreyevna Gorenko, better known by the pen name Anna Akhmatova, was a Russian modernist poet, one of the most acclaimed writers in the Russian canon.”

She was born in Odessa (Ukraine) in 1889. I was born in the same city in 1934.

Her poetry loved by every Russian speaking person.

Anna’s life was very interesting and tragic. I am going to write about it later.

Below is one of her poems. It translated by Richard McKane.

******************************************************************************************************

I taught myself to live simply and wisely,
to look at the sky and pray to God,
and to wander long before evening
to tire my superfluous worries.

*

When the burdocks rustle in the ravine
and the yellow-red rowanberry cluster droops
I compose happy verses
about life’s decay, decay and beauty.

*

I come back. The fluffy cat
licks my palm, purrs so sweetly
and the fire flares bright
on the saw-mill turret by the lake.

*

Only the cry of a stork landing on the roof
occasionally breaks the silence.
If you knock on my door
I may not even hear.

************************************************************************************

One thought on “Get a feeling of Anna Akhmatova’s poetry

  1. She wrote beautifully. I’m not surprised of her tragic life . It’s apparent in her chosen words for this poem. Living simply and wisely, but still she worries. Life’s happy decay. Looking forward to learning more.

Leave a Reply

