Gustav Klimt.

Let’s start with a short excerpt from Wikipedia:

“In 2006, the 1907 portrait, Adele Bloch-Bauer I, was purchased for the Neue Galerie New York by Ronald Lauder reportedly for US $135 million, surpassing Picasso‘s 1905 Boy With a Pipe (sold May 5, 2004 for $104 million), as the highest reported price ever paid for a painting.

On August 7, 2006, Christie’s auction house announced it was handling the sale of the remaining four works by Klimt that were recovered by Maria Altmann and her co-heirs after their long legal battle against Austria… The portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer II was sold at auction in November 2006 for $88 million, the third-highest priced piece of art at auction at the time.[24] The Apple Tree I (ca. 1912) sold for $33 million, Birch Forest (1903) sold for $40.3 million,[25] and Houses in Unterach on Lake Atter (1916) sold for $31 million.”

I wanted to introduce to you Gustav Klimt several weeks ago but only today I found a website that I like very much. It tells about events when Klimt lived, about his life and allows you to look at his paintings (by clicking on each of them).

Please explore the website HERE.

Now, there were two portraits of Adele Bloch-Bauer by Klimt. Who was she?

You can find an answer HERE.

 

11 thoughts on “Gustav Klimt.

  1. Hullo – I am young-ish – I pay no attention to the $ value of Klimt’s artwork – I do pay attention to a rich and valuable community treasure being owned only by an individual – how many artist’s would make their artworks to be shown in a room for only a handful people? It seems to defeat a purpose of art, which is communication between people…

    • I had many friends among artists and I read a lot about history of art.
      I don’t think that purpose of art is communication between people.
      Many famous people found joy in painting or sculpting and had no desire to sell or
      even to exhibit show their creations.
      On the other hand, famous art pieces were in private collections for a long time
      but their owners showed them to thousands of people and later donated them to museums.

      • Hullo JF – true – many private owners share artworks generously…
        Sometimes I make artworks only for myself, going through the process of making them helps me to communicate with my thoughts and emotions… Sometimes just making an artwork is a task that fills me with satisfaction and joy…
        I hope one day to see one of Klimt’s artworks face-to-face – they seem to glimmer and shine – it will be an experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

