“You don’t love me…”

Below is a poem of Sergei Yesenin written on December 4, 1925.

I read it many times when I was in school and college. There were several popular songs with this lyrics.

Only years later I understood the depth of this poem, the depth of his sufferings.

Sergei Yesenin died on December 28, 1925.

*********************************************************************************************************

You don’t love me and don’t feel compassion.

Don’t you think that now I look my best?

Though you look aside you’re thrilled with passion

As you put your arms upon my chest.

*

You are young, so sensitive and zealous,

I am neither bad nor very good to you.

Tell me, did you pet a lot of gentle fellows?

You remember many arms and lips. You do.

*

They are gone and haven’t touched you any,

Gone like shadows, leaving you aflame.

You have sat upon the laps of many,

You are sitting now on mine, without shame.

*

Though your eyes are closed, and you are rather

Thinking of some one you really trust,

After all, I do not love you either,

I am lost in thought about my dear past.

*

Don’t you call this zeal predestination?

Hasty tie is thoughtless and no good, –

Like I set up this unplanned connection,

I will smile when leaving you for good.

*

You will go the pathway of your own

Just to have your days unwisely spent,

Don’t approach the ones not fully grown,

Don’t entice the ones that never burnt.

*

When you walk with someone down the alley

Chatting merrily about love and all

Maybe, I’ll be out, walking round shyly,

And again, by chance, I’ll meet you, poor soul.

*

Squaring shoulders, ravishing and winning,

Bending forward, with an air kiss,

You will utter quietly: Good evening!

And I will reply: Good evening, miss.

*

Nothing will disturb my heart and spirit,

Nothing will perturb me giving pain,-

He who’s been in love will not retrieve it,

He who’s burnt will not be lit again.

*

December 4th, 1925

3 thoughts on ““You don’t love me…”

Leave a Reply

